By Sam Bush has been choosing an all-time Phillies team.

It picked catcher Darren Daulton, first baseman Ryan Howard, second baseman Chase Utley, third baseman Mike Schmidt, shortstop Jimmy Rollins, left fielder Sherry Magee, center fielder Richie Ashburn and right fielder Bobby Abreu as its starting eight position players. It chose Robin Roberts and Steve Carlton as its top right-handed and left-handed starters, respectively. Tug McGraw got the nod as the top reliever, while Del Unser was the best bench bat.

And’s Todd Zolecki says:

Manager Charlie Manuel was the only choice.

First, Manuel is one of only two managers in Phillies history to win a World Series.

Dallas Green led the Phillies to their first World Series championship in 1980, but Manuel is the winningest manager in franchise history with 780 wins.

He also led arguably the greatest era in franchise history, capturing five consecutive National League East titles from 2007-11, including back-to-back NL pennants (’08-09) and the ’08 championship.

He helped the Phillies win a franchise-record 102 games in ’11.

About admin

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply