By Tom Brennan

The MLB postseason is scheduled to begin on Oct. 5 with the American League wild-card game, followed by the National League wild-card game a day later.

The World Series begins on Oct. 26 with a potential Game 7 scheduled for Nov. 3, its latest since 2009.

The ALDS starts Thursday, Oct. 7 with a quadruple-header Friday with the two NL series getting underway. The ALCS starts Oct. 15 while the NLCS begins a day later and can run as late as Oct. 23 and Oct. 24, respectively.

The team with the better record will have home field advantage in the World Series, played in a 2-3-2 format.

Wild-card games

Tuesday, Oct. 5: AL wild-card game (ESPN)

Wednesday, Oct. 6: NL wild-card (TBS)

American League Division Series

Best-of-five

Game 1: Thursday, Oct. 7 (FS1 or MLBN)

Game 2: Friday, Oct. 8 (FS1 or MLBN)

Game 3: Sunday, Oct. 10 (FS1 or MLBN)

Game 4: Monday, Oct. 11 (FS1 or MLBN)

Game 5: Wednesday, Oct. 13 (FS1)

National League Division Series

Game 1: Friday, Oct. 8 (TBS)

Game 2: Saturday, Oct. 9 (TBS)

Game 3: Monday, Oct. 11 (TBS)

Game 4: Tuesday, Oct. 12 (TBS)

Game 5: Thursday, Oct. 14 (TBS)

AL Championship Series

Best-of-seven

Game 1: Friday, Oct. 15 (Fox)

Game 2: Saturday, Oct. 16 (Fox or FS1)

Game 3: Monday, Oct. 18 (FS1)

Game 4: Tuesday, Oct. 19 (FS1)

Game 5: Wednesday, Oct. 20 (FS1)

Game 6: Friday, Oct. 22 (FS1)

Game 7: Saturday, Oct. 23 (Fox or FS1)

NL Championship Series

Game 1: Saturday, Oct. 16 (TBS)

Game 2: Sunday, Oct. 17 (TBS)

Game 3: Tuesday, Oct. 19 (TBS)

Game 4: Wednesday, Oct. 20 (TBS)

Game 5: Thursday, Oct. 21 (TBS)

Game 6: Saturday, Oct. 23 (TBS)

Game 7: Sunday, Oct. 24 (TBS)

World Series

Best-of-seven, Fox (hosted by team with better record)

Game 1: Tuesday, Oct. 26

Game 2: Wednesday, Oct. 27

Game 3: Friday, Oct. 29

Game 4: Saturday, Oct. 30

Game 5: Sunday, Oct. 31

Game 6: Tuesday, Nov. 2

Game 7: Wednesday, Nov. 3