By Mike Grimm

The legendary Merrill Reese (left with Mike Quick), voice of the Eagles for 47 years, will enter the Pro Football Hall of Fame as its 2024 Pete Rozelle Radio-Television Award winner.

“Hugh, I am going to be honest with you, I cried,” Reese told Hugh Douglas and Joe Giglio today on WIP.

“I had no idea, I got a call from Canton, Ohio and I thought, ‘Huh, why am I getting a call from Canton, Ohio?’

“I am overwhelmed, honestly,” he said.

“It was something I never imagined and here it happened. I am very, very grateful to everybody at the NFL and everyone at WIP and to the greatest fans in the NFL.”

Some of the other Pete Rozelle Radio-Television Award winners include: Fred Guadelli, Howard Katz, John Facenda, Joe Buck, Dick Ebersol, Andrea Kremer, David Hill, James Brown, Tom Jackson, Bob Trumpy, Al Michaels, Len Dawson, Jim Nantz, Chris Berman and more.

“Each year, the Hall of Fame recognizes an individual who has dedicated their career to improving radio and television in professional football, and this year’s recipient, Merrill Reese, represents exactly what we look for when we talk about who’s made a big impact in broadcasting,” said Jim Porter, president of the Pro Football Hall of Fame via

“For nearly a half century, fans tuning into Eagles games, including opposing fans, have had the privilege of hearing Merrill’s legendary voice.”

Reese will be honored during the 2024 Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Week on Saturday, August 3rd in Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium.

Reese, 81, has been the Eagles’ play-by-play announcer since 1977, making him the longest-serving current NFL play-by-play announcer.

About admin

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply