By Harry Allison

It’s the New England Patriots vs. the Los Angeles Rams in Super Bowl 53:

Date: Sunday, Feb. 3

Kickoff time: 6:30 p.m.


Location: Mercedes-Benz Stadium, Atlanta

Home team: Los Angeles Rams

Away team: New England Patriots

Halftime entertainers: Maroon 5, Travis Scott, Big Boi

National anthem: Gladys Knight

AFC champion: The Patriots went 11-5 to capture the AFC East title and the No. 2 seed, earning a bye. After defeating the Los Angeles Chargers, 41-28, in a divisional playoff, New England defeated the Kansas City Chiefs in the AFC Championship game, 37-31, in overtime.

Los Angeles Rams: The Rams went 13-3 to capture the NFC West title and the No. 2 seed, earning a bye. After defeating the Dallas Cowboys, 30-22, in a divisional playoff, the Rams knocked off the No. 1 seed New Orleans Saints in the NFC Championship game, 26-23 in overtime.


The Rams are in the Super Bowl in just their third season back in Los Angeles.

Shortly after capturing the NFC title, the Rams announced they will wear throwback uniforms in Atlanta, similar to what they wore in Super Bowl XIV.

Jared Goff, 24, became the youngest quarterback to win an NFC Championship game.

This will be Patriots quarterback Tom Brady and coach Bill Belichick’s ninth Super Bowl appearance, and the franchise’s 11th, the most in league history.

Brady and Belichick will be going for their sixth Lombardi Trophy.

Brady will extend his record as the oldest quarterback to start a Super Bowl.

The Patriots are tied with Dallas and San Francisco with five Super Bowl wins, and could tie the Pittsburgh Steelers for the most in NFL history with six.

Referee John Parry (third Super Bowl), line judge Jeff Bergman (second), field judge Steve Zimmer (second), back judge Terrence Miles (second), umpire Fred Bryan (first), down judge Edgar Camp (first), side judge Eugene Hall (first).

Postseason shares

A look at the shares for players in each round of the playoffs. A player on a division winner participating in the Wild Card round and winning the Super Bowl will receive a total of $230,000. A player on a Wild Card team which wins the Super Bowl will receive a total of $228,000.

Game Team Amount
Wild Card Game (Div. Winner) $29,000 ($28,000 in 2017)
(Other) $27,000 ($26​,000 in 2017)
Divisional Playoff Game $29,000 ($28,000 in 2017)
Conference Championship Game $54,000 ($51,000 in 2017)
Super Bowl (Winning Team) $118,000 ($112,000 in 2017)
(Losing Team) $59,000 ($56,000 in 2017)
Pro Bowl (Winning Team) $67,000 ($64,000 in 2017)
(Losing Team) $34,000 ($32,000 in 2017)

NFC Champions: This is the the Rams’ fourth Super Bowl appearance. The franchise won Super Bowl XXXIV and lost XXXVI (to the Patriots) and XIV.

AFC Champions: This is New England’s 11th Super Bowl appearance. The franchise has won five.

Past Super Bowls in Atlanta

Super Bowl XXXIV: St. Louis defeated Tennessee, 23-16, on Jan. 20, 2000 at the Georgia Dome, which no longer exists.

Super Bowl XXVIII: Dallas beat Buffalo, 30-13, on Jan. 30, 1994, at the Georgia Dome.

Events at Super Bowl LIII

Super Bowl Opening Night: Formerly known as media day, this features player and coach press conferences and will be held Monday, Jan. 28. The NFC team begins its session at 7 p.m., followed by the AFC team at 9 p.m.

Super Bowl Live: A free-to-the-public fan village that highlights the culture and music of Atlanta, including concerts produced by Grammy winner Jermaine Dupri. Open from Jan. 26-Feb. 2 at Centennial Olympic Park in downtown Atlanta.

Super Bowl Experience: An interactive theme park. Open from Jan. 26-Feb.2 at the Georgia World Congress Center.

Player and coach media schedule

Sunday and/or Monday, Jan. 27-28: Photo opportunity at airport upon arrival

Monday, Jan. 28: 7:10 p.m. and 9 p.m., Super Bowl Opening Night

Tuesday, Jan. 29: 11 a.m. and 12:30 p.m., team hotels

Wednesday, Jan. 30: 8 a.m., 10:15 a.m., or 4:00 p.m., team hotels

Thursday, Jan. 31: 8 a.m., 10:15 a.m., or 4:00 p.m., team hotels

Sunday, Feb. 3: Super Bowl LIII

Monday, Feb. 4: 8:30 a.m. (winning coach, MVP), Super Bowl Media Center

About the Lombardi Trophy

From the NFL: The winning team receives permanent possession of the Vince Lombardi Trophy, a sterling silver trophy created by Tiffany & Co. and presented annually to the winner of the Super Bowl. The trophy was named for the late Vince Lombardi before Super Bowl V.

The trophy is a regulation-size silver football mounted in a kicking position on a pyramid-like stand of three concave sides. The trophy stands 20.75 inches tall, weighs 107.3 ounces, and is valued in excess of $25,000. The words Vince Lombardi and Super Bowl LIII are engraved on the base along with the NFL shield.

Future Super Bowls

Super Bowl LIV: Hard Rock Stadium, Miami, Feb. 2, 2020*,

Super Bowl LV: Raymond James Stadium, Tampa, Feb. 7, 2021*

Super Bowl LVI: New Los Angeles Stadium, Los Angeles, Feb. 6, 2022*

Oldest winning coaches in the Super Bowl

Belichick, 66, would become the oldest coach to win if the Patriots are victorious.

Coach Team Super Bowl Years Days
Tom Coughlin New York Giants XLVI 65 158
Bill Belichick New England LI 64 295
Dick Vermeil St. Louis XXXIV 63 92
Pete Carroll Seattle XLVIII 62 140
Weeb Ewbank New York Jets III 61 251

Oldest to play in the Super Bowl

Brady, 41, climbs the list.

Player Team Super Bowl Years Days
Matt Stover Indianapolis XLIV 42 11
Jeff Feagles New York Giants XLII 41 333
Matt Bryant Atlanta LI 41 252
Mike Horan St. Louis XXXIV 40 363
Tom Brady New England LII 40 185

Sets of brothers who have reached the Super Bowl

Devin and Jason McCourty are the 30th set of brothers to reach the Super Bowl, the first to play for the same team in the game. Here is the full list of the other 29 sets of brothers:

Jonathan (Falcons LI) and Jordan Babineaux (Seahawks XL)

Chris (Raiders XV, XVIII) and Matt Bahr (Steelers XIV; Giants XXV)

Ronde (Buccaneers XXXVII) and Tiki Barber (Giants XXXV)

Martellus (Patriots LI) and Michael Bennett (Seahawks XLVIII, XLIX)

Glenn (Dolphins XVII, XIX) and Lyle Blackwood (Dolphins XVII, XIX)

Pete (Patriots XX) and Stan Brock (Chargers XXIX)

Ruben (Bears XLI) and Cornell Brown (Ravens XXXV)

Peter (Ravens XXXV) and Michael Boulware (Seahawks XL)

Brent (Eagles LII) and Garrett Celek (49ers XLVII)

Zack (Raiders XXXVII) and Henri Crockett (Falcons XXXIII)

Kevin (Titans XXXIV; Panthers XXXVIII) and Andre Dyson (Seahawks XL)

Jim (49ers XXIII) and Keith Fahnhorst (49ers XVI, XIX)

Archie (Bengals XVI), Keith (Redskins XXII) and Ray Griffin (Bengals XVI)

Charley (Raiders XVIII) and John Hannah (Patriots XX)

Derrick (49ers XIX) and Ronnie Harmon (Chargers XXIX)

Kris (Panthers XXXVIII) and Cullen Jenkins (Packers XLV)

Arthur (Ravens XLVII) and Chandler Jones (Patriots XLIX)

Chris (Steelers XLIII, XLV) and Ma’ake Kemoeatu (Ravens XLVII)

Brian (Patriots XXXVIII) and Todd Kinchen (Falcons XXXIII*)

Eli (Giants XLII, XLVI) and Peyton Manning (Colts XLI, XLIV; Broncos XLVIII, 50)

Cle (Raiders XVIII) and Wilbert Montgomery (Eagles XV)

Gloster (Chiefs IV; Cowboys VI*) and Willie Richardson (Colts III)

Darren (Packers XXXII) and Jamie Sharper (Ravens XXXV)

Bubba (Colts III, V) and Tody Smith (Cowboys VI)

Malcolm (Seahawks XLVIII) and Steve Smith (Giants XLII)

Jonathan (Saints, XLIV) and Matt Stinchcomb (Raiders, XXXVIII)

Jeff (Dolphins XVII, XIX) and Loren Toews (Steelers IX, X, XIII, XIV)

Terron (Falcons LI*) and T.J. Ward (Broncos 50)

Doug (Broncos XXIV) and Dave Widell (Falcons XXXIII*)

About admin

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply