By Peter Marks

New York Yankees outfielder Aaron Judge and Phillies first baseman Bryce Harper were elected to start in the July 16 All-Star Game in Arlington, Texas.

A few hours later, Harper limped off the field with an apparent left hamstring injury after making the final out of Philadelphia’s 7-4 loss to the Miami Marlins. He will undergo imaging Friday.

Harper topped the NL and was second in the big leagues with 3,277,920 votes. He was chosen for his eighth All-Star Game, seventh as a starter. His previous All-Star appearances came as an outfielder and designated hitter.

Remaining starters will be announced on June 30. Pitchers and reserves will be revealed on July 7.

Six players each from the Baltimore Orioles and Phillies advanced to the second phase.

In the final days of the initial voting, Philadelphia’s Kyle Schwarber overtook Atlanta’s Marcell Ozuna for the second spot among NL designated hitters behind Los Angeles Dodgers star Shohei Ohtani.

Schwarber exited Thursday night’s game in the ninth inning after experiencing left groin tightness.

Baltimore’s Ryan O’Hearn moved ahead of Yankees slugger Giancarlo Stanton for second among designated hitters in the AL behind Houston’s Yordan Alvarez. O’Hearn had been fourth, also trailing Cleveland’s David Fry.

AL finalists:

Catcher: Salvador Perez, Adley Rutschman

First Base: Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Ryan Mountcastle

Second Base: Jose Altuve, Marcus Semien

Third Base: José Ramírez, Jordan Westburg

Shortstop: Gunnar Henderson, Bobby Witt Jr.

Outfield: Steven Kwan, Anthony Santander, Juan Soto, Kyle Tucker

Designated Hitter: Yordan Alvarez, Ryan O’Hearn

NL finalists:

Catcher: William Contreras, J.T. Realmuto

Second Base: Luis Arraez, Ketel Marte

Third Base: Alec Bohm, Manny Machado

Shortstop: Mookie Betts, Trea Turner

Outfield: Nick Castellanos, Teoscar Hernández, Brandon Marsh, Jurickson Profar, Fernando Tatis Jr., Christian Yelich

Designated Hitter: Shohei Ohtani, Kyle Schwarber

About admin

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply