By Jenny Masters

The Flyers will induct Paul Holmgren and Rick Tocchet into the Flyers Hall of Fame during a pregame ceremony on Tuesday, Nov. 16, before the Flyers play the Calgary Flames.

Holmgren served the Flyers in nearly every capacity for over 40 years. He is the only individual in Flyers history to serve the organization as a player (1975-1984), assistant coach (1985-88), head coach (1988-92), general manager (2006-14) and president (2014-19). He was responsible for highly successful NHL Drafts during his front office tenure and in his eight seasons as GM, the Flyers went 307-234-73 (.559), made six playoff appearances and a trip to the 2010 Stanley Cup Final.

As a player, Holmgren recorded 138 goals and 171 assist for 309 points in 500 games in Orange & Black. He was a member of the Flyers during their historic 35-game unbeaten streak and Stanley Cup Final appearance during the 1979-80 season, when he scored a career-high 30 goals. He ranks second in Flyers history with 1,600 penalty minutes and he played in the 1981 NHL All-Star Game.

Tocchet played parts of 11 seasons with the Flyers, including one season as captain, where he recorded 232 goals and 276 assists for 508 points in 621 career regular season games. He is also the Flyers all-time leader in penalty minutes (1,815).

He was a member of the Flyers team that reached the Stanley Cup Final and won the Eastern Conference Championship in 1985 and 1987. His 27 goals and 60 points in the Stanley Cup playoffs both rank 10th in franchise history. His postseason totals with the Flyers include 60 points (27g-33a) in 95 Stanley Cup Playoff games.

He posted two 40-goal seasons (1988-89 & 1990-91) and a career-high 96 points during the 1989-90 season when he also had 196 penalty minutes. He is one of only three players in NHL history to have 96 or more points and 196 or more penalty minutes in the same season.


1988 – Bob Clarke and Bernie Parent
1989 – Bill Barber, Ed Snider and Keith Allen
1990 – Rick MacLeish and Fred Shero
1991 – Barry Ashbee and Gary Dornhoefer
1992 – Reggie Leach and Gene Hart
1993 – Joe Scott and Ed Van Impe
1994 – Tim Kerr
1996 – Joe Watson
1999 – Brian Propp
2001 – Mark Howe
2004 – Dave Poulin
2008 – Ron Hextall
2009 – Dave Schultz
2014 – Eric Lindros and John LeClair
2015 – Eric Desjardins
2015 – Rod Brind’Amour
2016 – Jimmy Watson

About admin

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply