By Peter Gleason

We don’t want to beat a dead horse, but:

The world and the NFL are not done disrespecting the Eagles!

The Associated Press released its All-Pro team yesterday, and the biggest controversy is Chiefs Travis Kelce being chosen the top tight end over the Eagles Zach Ertz.

Ertz set a single-season record for receptions by a tight end, and George Kittle broke the single-season yardage mark for a tight end about an hour after Kelce set it. Still, it’s not like Kelce was unworthy, after having a big season on a team that was the AFC’s best.

Travis’ brother Jason, the Eagles center, made the first team, as did the Birds’ All World defensive tackle Fletcher Cox.

Patrick Mahomes was the quarterback on the AP’s All-Pro team, which is no surprise. Mahomes became the second member of the 5,000-yard, 50-touchdown club, joining Peyton Manning. Still, there was some notion that Drew Brees of the New Orleans Saints actually deserved the award. It would be strange if the voters put Mahomes as the quarterback on the All-Pro team and voted for another quarterback as MVP. And as we know, you practically have to play quarterback anymore to win MVP. Mahomes got 45 of 50 votes, which indicates the MVP vote won’t be close either.

The other most notable part of the All-Pro team is that it included four rookies (Indianapolis Colts teammates Quenton Nelson and Darius Leonard, Los Angeles Chargers safety Derwin James and Seattle Seahawks punter Michael Dickson) for the first time ever. Nelson and Leonard are the first rookies from the same team to be named All-Pro since Dick Butkus and Gale Sayers for the 1965 Chicago Bears.

Here’s the first-team offense:

Quarterback: Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City Chiefs
Running back: Todd Gurley, Los Angeles Rams
Wide receivers: Michael Thomas, New Orleans Saints; DeAndre Hopkins, Houston Texans
Tight end: Travis Kelce, Kansas City Chiefs
Flex: Tyreek Hill, Kansas City Chiefs
Left tackle: David Bakhtiari, Green Bay Packers
Left guard: Quenton Nelson, Indianapolis Colts
Center: Jason Kelce, Eagles
Right guard: Zack Martin, Dallas Cowboys
Right tackle: Mitchell Schwartz, Kansas City Chiefs

Here’s the first-team defense:

Edge rushers: J.J. Watt, Houston Texans; Khalil Mack, Chicago Bears
Interior linemen: Aaron Donald, Los Angeles Rams; Fletcher Cox, Eagles
Linebackers: Luke Kuechly, Carolina Panthers; Bobby Wagner, Seattle Seahawks; Darius Leonard, Indianapolis Colts
Cornerbacks: Kyle Fuller, Chicago Bears; Stephon Gilmore, New England Patriots
Safeties: Eddie Jackson, Chicago Bears; Derwin James, Los Angeles Chargers
Defensive back: Desmond King, Los Angeles Chargers

Here are the All-Pro specialists:

Kicker: Justin Tucker, Baltimore Ravens
Punter: Michael Dickson, Seattle Seahawks
Kick returner: Andre Roberts, New York Jets
Punt returner: Tarik Cohen, Chicago Bears
Special teamer: Adrian Phillips, Los Angeles Chargers

About admin

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply