Philly will be on more than Stanley Cup champ Pittsburgh and runner-up Nashville put together!

By Mary Cunningham

You have to wonder what NBC knows about the failing Flyers that our eyes can’t see.

Or, perhaps you can chalk this up to Comcast ownership of a network displaying another asset it owns to the rest of the country:

The Flyers are scheduled to play in front of a national audience 16 times this season, including four weekend games on NBC!

Four of the 16 games will be on NBCSN as its Wednesday Night Rivalry, which returns for a fifth season and will feature some of the biggest rivalries in the NHL. The network will air exclusive coverage on Wednesday nights for 23 weeks, with games usually starting at 8 p.m. ET.

In addition, the Flyers season-opening game on Wednesday, Oct. 4 at San Jose (10:30 p.m. ET) will be a part of NBCSN’s Wednesday Nightcap coverage, which will immediately follow Wednesday Night Rivalry matchups.

The Flyers will be featured on national TV in a number of marquee matchups, including eight games against Metropolitan Division rivals, which include the Pittsburgh Penguins (3), New York Rangers (2), Washington Capitals (2) and Carolina Hurricanes (1).

The Flyers will also face off against their Eastern Conference opponents in the Atlantic Division a total of five times. They will play all three games of their season series against the Detroit Red Wings, as well as one game against the Boston Bruins and Montreal Canadiens.

The Flyers complete local television broadcast schedule will be released later this summer.

Flyers National TV Schedule (All times Eastern Standard Time)

Wed., Oct. 4 Philadelphia vs. San Jose NBCSN 10:30 p.m.
Thurs., Oct. 5 Philadelphia vs. Los Angeles NBCSN 10 p.m.
Wed., Nov. 1 Philadelphia vs. Chicago NBCSN 8 p.m.
Wed., Dec. 20 Detroit vs. Philadelphia NBCSN 8 p.m.
Tue., Jan 2 Pittsburgh vs. Philadelphia NBCSN 7 p.m.
Tue., Jan. 16 Philadelphia vs. N.Y. Rangers NBCSN 7 p.m.
Sun., Jan. 21 Philadelphia vs. Washington NBC 12:30 p.m.
Tue., Jan. 23 Philadelphia vs. Detroit NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Wed., Jan. 31 Philadelphia vs. Washington NBCSN 8 p.m.
Mon., Feb. 26 Philadelphia vs. Montreal NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Wed., Mar. 7 Pittsburgh vs. Philadelphia NBCSN 8 p.m.
Tue., Mar. 20 Philadelphia vs. Detroit NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Sun., Mar. 25 Philadelphia vs. Pittsburgh NBC 12:30 p.m.
Sun., Apr. 1 Boston vs. Philadelphia NBC 12:30 p.m.
Thur., Apr. 5 Carolina vs. Philadelphia NBCSN 7 p.m.
Sat., Apr. 7 N.Y. Rangers vs. Philadelphia NBC 3 p.m.