By Annie Ross

Temple basketball coach Fran Dunphy is entering his lame-duck season, and he was honored yesterday with the Dean Smith Award, which is given by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association to the individual who embodies the spirit and values of the late Hall of Fame coach from North Carolina.

John Thompson (Georgetown), Tom Izzo (Michigan State) and Dan Dohner (Dayton) are the previous recipients.

Former St. Joe’s AD DiJulia was also honored as the Champion of Hope Award winner for his commitment to the Philly basketball community and his dedication to the fight against cancer.

DiJulia retired earlier this year after two stints as the AD on Hawk Hill that covered 35 years.