By Sam Bush

Phils catcher J. T. Realmuto just added a 2019 Silver Slugger award to his Gold Glove.

Which means the cost of his contract extension just went up a lot, whenever the three stooges who oversee the Phils get around to doing the deal.

Eight first-time honorees are among the 2019 Silver Slugger Award winners, which were announced Thursday. The annual awards go to the top hitters at each position.

The Atlanta Braves led the way with three NL Silver Slugger winners, all of them first-timers. In the AL, Mike Trout won the award for the seventh time in his career.


Catcher: *Mitch Garver, Minnesota Twins

First base: *Carlos Santana, Cleveland Indians

Second base: DJ LeMahieu, New York Yankees

Third base: *Alex Bregman, Houston Astros

Shortstop: Xander Bogaerts, Boston Red Sox

Outfield: Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels; Mookie Betts, Boston Red Sox; George Springer, Houston Astros

Designated hitter: Nelson Cruz, Minnesota Twins


Catcher: J.T. Realmuto, PHILLIES

First base: *Freddie Freeman, Atlanta Braves

Second base: *Ozzie Albies, Atlanta Braves

Third base: Anthony Rendon, Washington Nationals

Shortstop: Trevor Story, Colorado Rockies

Outfield: Christian Yelich, Milwaukee Brewers; *Cody Bellinger, Los Angeles Dodgers; *Ronald Acuña Jr., Atlanta Braves

Pitcher: Zack Greinke, Arizona Diamondbacks

* – First-time winner