By Sam Bush

If Aaron Nola snags the National League Cy Young Award, he’ll be the Phillies first home-grown winner, with the announcement set tonight at 6 pm on the MLB Network.

He was named by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America as one of the top three finishers for the National League Cy Young Award.

Nola, 25, went 17-6 with a 2.37 ERA in 33 starts. He tied Mets ace Jacob deGrom in WAR (10.0), according to Baseball Reference. He ranked fourth in the league in WAR (5.6), according to FanGraphs. Nola struck out 224 batters in 212 1/3 innings.

The Nats’ Max Scherzer will be going for his fourth Cy Young Award overall, including an American League Cy Young Award he won in 2013 with the Tigers to go along with his awards in the past two seasons with the Nats. Another win would put Scherzer in even more rarefied territory, but deGrom will enter this announcement as the favorite. Scherzer’s 2.53 ERA is good, but it doesn’t approach deGrom’s historic 1.70 mark, which makes him the favorite. But Scherzer holds an advantage in a few other categories, including WHIP (0.91), innings (220 2/3) and wins (18), all of which paced the NL.

Steve Carlton (1972, ’77, ’80 and ’82), John Denny (’83), Steve Bedrosian (’87) and Roy Halladay (2010) each won the award while pitching for Philly, but they were acquired in trades or free agency.