By Harry Allison

Moses Malone came to the Sixers in 1982, just in time to lead them to the NBA title in 1982-83.

From 1982-83 to 1985-86, Malone won MVP, NBA Finals MVP and a championship and made two All-NBA first teams, an All-NBA second team and four All-Star teams.

So, the Sixers are finally getting around to is honoring him, posthumously, as he died in 2015:

From their release:

The Philadelphia 76ers announced today the team will retire the late Moses Malone’s No. 2 in a special halftime ceremony on Friday, Feb. 8, 2019 when the 76ers host the Denver Nuggets at 7 p.m. on ESPN, NBC Sports Philadelphia and 97.5 The Fanatic.

Prior to the game, the 76ers will unveil a Malone sculpture on “76ers Legends Walk” at the Philadelphia 76ers Training Complex in Camden, New Jersey.

Malone will join select company with multiple retired jerseys — he started with the Houston Rockets. The rest of the list:

  • Wilt Chamberlain (Warriors, 76ers, Lakers)
  • Pete Maravich (Jazz, Pelicans, Hawks)
  • Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (Lakers, Bucks)
  • Shaquille O’Neal (Lakers, Heat)
  • Oscar Robertson (Bucks, Kings)
  • Charles Barkley (76ers, Suns)
  • Clyde Drexler (Trail Blazers, Rockets)
  • Julius Erving (Nets, 76ers)
  • Earl Monroe (Knicks, Wizards)
  • Bob Lanier (Pistons, Bucks)
  • Dikembe Mutombo (Hawks, Nuggets)
  • Nate Thurmond (Warriors, Cavaliers)
  • Jerry Sloan (Jazz, Bulls)
  • Kobe Bryant (Lakers, Lakers)
  • Michael Jordan (Bulls, Heat)